Knitting Socks Saga One

Well, my efforts at learning to knit socks are frustrating to say the least.  I do keep getting closer to finishing one sock but I’m now stuck on the gusset.  (The triangle part between your heel, instep and ankle on a sock).  Here’s how’s it’s gone:

First, I had trouble with the double pointed needles. I’d get 1 inch of ribbing done and whoosh…a needle would slip out and hit the floor.  Since I am not good at rethreading a needle through stitches, it mean ripping it all out and starting over.  Next, I got better with the needles and got to the heel  flap (the part that goes down the back of the sock around your heel).  At that point, I lost track of where I was, made it way too large and had to rip out all the stitches. Finally, on a roll, I started again, got past the heel and all the way to the gusset. The instructions asked for an SSK (slip 2 stitches as if to knit and then knit in the back loops).  If you’re saying, “Huh?”…that’s what I said.  If you know exactly what that actually means and how to do it, then I want to talk with you.  You’ll be my new best friend.

I now have five hats to send Mom for the homeless shelter and to keep occupied while my foot is elevated, I started a new knitted hat (Knit Picks, Easy Peasy Hat) in black and a blue/pink variegated, am continuing on my Enterlac Afghan and another pair of crocheted socks in a different yarn.

The doc says I’m healing nicely.  I still have to wear the little sandal shoe but he did say I can take it off to drive if I need to.  Yes, it hurts, but not nearly as bad as I thought it would.

About Charlene

A knitting, quilting, crocheting, writing, progressive with a love of rescue animals, off-leash dog parks and a desire to improve my photography.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Would love to read your thoughts on this.

