Kats Feis

WP_000011My latest project is another pair of socks using some Cascade Heritage yarn I purchased at Serial Knitters in Kirkland WA and a toe-up magic loop pattern from Liat Gat.

I’ve altered the pattern to include this plaited cable rib, naming this pair of socks “Kat’s Feis” after my beautiful niece who does some lovely Irish dancing. May I one day be able to go to a Feis she’s dancing in.

This is the first time I’ve used this weight yarn (sock weight), the first time I’ve used a size 3 needle and the first time I’ve used real cabling except for my practice piece.  What I’ve learned: socks are addictive;  cables are addictive;  knitting is addictive. I like the fleegle heel in this pattern better than the wrap technique I’ve tried in others.  I also like Judy’s magic cast on for the toe better than I do a provisional.

This is not to say that the things I like less are not as good.  It is simply that at my current knitting level I find those more difficult or cumbersome than my preferred techniques.

When I finish these I’ll take a picture of me wiggling my toes in them for you.

~Later

About Charlene

A knitting, quilting, crocheting, writing, progressive with a love of rescue animals, off-leash dog parks and a desire to improve my photography.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kats Feis

  1. Kara Hoover says:

    Oooh, so pretty! I love those colors and the cables.

    Like

  2. charlene says:

    Thanks! That combo has to be my favorite colors. I am generally drawn to purples, blues and lavenders. It’s been fun so far. I’ve finished one and am now starting the second sock. I have GOT to learn to do two socks at once. I can see where it would be helpful, particularly in matching..

    Like

What do you think? Would love to read your thoughts on this.

