My world is twisted, not warped

WP_000399I’m still working on knitting hats. Using up all my bits of yarn and under the self imposed deadline of getting them all mailed out by the end of this month.  I’m sure it is going to be getting cold at night  in Charlotte, NC before too much longer. I don’t get bored because I also get to try out new techniques like Fair Isle, Double Knitting, Cables and reversible knits.

The hats to the left are kids hats made from the Forward and Reverse pattern found in the Leisure Arts #75357, Celebrity Slouchy Knit Beanies for the Family by Lisa Gentry. It’s an incredibly easy pattern, is great for using up stash yarn and once you get it down can be altered in hundred’s of ways to kind of do your own thing. That’s my thing.  Doing the same thing over and over is way too boring. I have to change it.

So, between hats, I finished another pair of socks, which kind of remind me of the The PS_000002Wicked Witch of the East. Remember those stripped things in The Wizard of Oz? I love them.  They are a cashmere/wool blend, oh so soft with nothing fancy added to it. Sometimes you just have to have a little fun. These followed my current goto pattern for socks: “Toe-Up Socks: One Or Two-At-A-Time On Magic Loop” Video E-Book by Liat Gat .

My big learning project was a sweater.  I have been wanting to do the Elizabeth Zimmerman top down seamless sweater but that is, I believe, a little beyond me yet.  So, I picked up the book, “Cuff to Cuff” by Susan Guagliumi and was able to knit a sweater. It’s the Crayon Stripes pattern .  It is just ribbing and garter stitch so it was a nice project to do when Mike and I drove down to see WP_000383the Redwoods in California.

Anyway, the sleeves are a tad long but other than that, I’m very happy with it. It made me feel really good to finish something like this and gives me a little bigger push to try other sweaters and vests.  Vests come in very handy here in the Pacific Northwest, where layering is a way of life.

On the health front, I’ve started back on my Rebif. Not overly fond of having to go back on those 3x week shots, but oh well, such is life.  If it keeps me from getting further MS lesions then it’s worth it.  I do get the flu side effects but by taking the shot early in the evening I sleep through at least seven hours of it.

Fall is here. Now, back to my knitting.

About Charlene

A knitting, quilting, crocheting, writing, progressive with a love of rescue animals, off-leash dog parks and a desire to improve my photography.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Would love to read your thoughts on this.

