Piffle on Progress

I should know by now.  Re: That wonderful little poncho I was talking about? Well, I finished the poncho, front and back, and was at the home stretch where I add a collar and sew on my buttons. I decided I wanted a hood instead.  So, no problem, right?  A hood is simply a large collar where you sew the top together, right?  Well, that’s all well and good, but it also uses a lot more yarn.  I got half way through the hood, thinking I had one more ball of yarn and found I’m out. Drat.

I now have the option of ordering one ball of yarn from Lion Brand (I checked my yarn store and they aren’t carrying it) with the likely hood of it being the same dye-lot about  nil, or dismantling the hood back to the collar line and just going with the collar as the pattern indicated. The poncho I hoped to be finished by now is sitting on waste yarn waiting for me to make up my mind as to what I want to do. I was so disgusted I had to set it aside for a later day.

The lovely socks I also had to rip out and start over. I had them in my purse and they slipped half the stitches off the needle.  Since I have never been good at re-attaching stitches once I unravel them, I just ripped out all of them and started over. I gotta start using a life line (Thank you JL Yarnworks for a great explanation). I’ve used on before and it really does help. However, I forget to do this often and it takes my ripping out a project like my two at a time socks to remind me. Duh!

In the meantime, I finished a very large shopping bag. We stopped using plastic bags long ago and since we keep the bags in the car, it is quite easy to remember to use them. I’m determined to swap out the cheapo bags we bought at the grocery store with these net bags I’m making. They hold a great deal more, are machine washable and therefore much more sanitary. Plus they are very good stash busters. At least I ended this post on a positive note. HA!

~Later

About Charlene

A knitting, quilting, crocheting, writing, progressive with a love of rescue animals, off-leash dog parks and a desire to improve my photography.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Would love to read your thoughts on this.

