Spring Cleaning

There are definitely phases in my organizing flurries. Generally when things become  chaotic, it becomes more productive to sort, list and shelve, than spend hours looking for something I know I have. Over the last couple of days, it’s been books and yarn.

I made a rule that I wouldn’t buy new yarn until I’ve used up what I have AND I’d make things from patterns I already own. Considering that numbers literally thousands of patterns, I should be able to match some things up and at least make a dent.

We have a new yarn shop in town, Tolt Yarn & Wool, and I’m dying to buy some local yarn. Fortunately, the shop supports local sheep and alpaca farmers and the spinners of their lovely products. I am further pushing  myself to get this done (the organizing) since I can’t stay out of that lovely shop and so end up with more needles and patterns (which I also don’t need more of) since I won’t buy yarn. To save the purse for luscious things, I must use what I have.

There are five rules I learned many years ago during a particularly stressful life period:

  1. If it’s broken and you haven’t attempted to repair it in 6 months, you won’t fix it – get rid of it.  It’s trash.
  2. If it’s not broken, but you haven’t used it in a year and you’ve hit all the seasons, you either don’t like it, can’t wear it or have no use for it. – donate it.
  3. If you can use it, put it in a proper place.- now.
  4. If you don’t have a place for it, then you have too much stuff. – donate it.
  5. Once you’ve reached your current space limit and acquire something new, you must use rule 4 for something you already own.

I really do try to live by this, though it is very easy to slip into complacency and return to being a pack rat.

So, after rounding up all the books and the yarn I spent the last two days entering it all into my Ravelry. library, selecting certain patterns for my queue (things to make)  and entering all yarns into the Ravelry stash. Then I put them all away. The books could still be better sorted on the shelves, but that is for another day.

Happy Knitting!

About Charlene

A knitting, quilting, crocheting, writing, progressive with a love of rescue animals, off-leash dog parks and a desire to improve my photography.
This entry was posted in Craftiness, Craziness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Would love to read your thoughts on this.

